Four CAREER awards within past year

News date: 

Assistant Professors Adda Athanasopoulos-Zekkos, Ann Jeffers, Carol Menassa and Krista Wigginton have each earned National Science Foundation (NSF) Career Awards within the past twelve months.

This award is given to those who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research. It is NSF's most prestigious award in support of junior faculty.

Steven J. Wright Receives Telford Premium

News date: 

Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Steven J. Wright and his two former PhD students (Dr. Jose G. Vasconcelos and Dr. James W. Lewis) were awarded the Institute of Civil Engineers (ICE) Telford Premium for their paper "Air–water interactions in urban drainage systems," published in Engineering and Computational Mechanics (September 2017).

Lutgarde Raskin Selected as AEESP Distinguished Lecturer

News date: 

Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Lutgarde Raskin has been selected as the 2018-2019 Distinguished Lecturer by the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP), in recognition of her excellence as both a researcher and educator and ability to give engaging oral presentations to members of the environmental engineering community and the general public.

Raskin will visit at least 12 institutions in her 2018-2019 lecture tour, giving at least one talk from two lecture topics at each institution. The lectures are free and open to the public.

Impressive Finish for Steel Bridge Team in National Competition

Steel Bridge May 2018
News date: 

The University of Michigan’s Steel Bridge Team finished an exceptional year by placing 13th overall at the ASCE/AISC National Student Steel Bridge Competition at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, May 25-26, 2018.

The team competed against 41 other teams in the national competition, consisting of the top two teams from each regional competition. The University of Michigan team placed first overall at the regional competition on April 6-8, 2018.

CEE Mourns the Loss of Dr. Maria Szerszen

News date: 

Dr. Maria Szerszen, a CEE faculty member from 1996 to 2007, passed away on Sunday, May 20, 2018, at the age of 63 after a short battle with cancer.

Born Aug. 5, 1954, Szerszen earned her master’s degree in civil engineering from Cracow University of Technology in Kraków, Poland in 1978. She served as a teaching assistant before earning her PhD and a position as an assistant professor with the Department of Civil Engineering at Cracow University of Technology in 1993.

Prof. Victor Li Authors Bendable Concrete Article in The Conversation

News date: 

Bendable concrete, with a design inspired by seashells, can make US infrastructure safer and more durable

Spring construction season is underway, and many tons of concrete will be used in the coming months. Unfortunately, concrete is a brittle material: Placed under stress, it cannot bend very far before it fractures. Some pavements that are being poured now will crack within a few years and require expensive repairs. New concrete will be mixed, and the cycle will start again...

Staff member Steve Donajkowski receives CEE Staff Excellence Award

Steve Donajkowski Award
News date: 

Mechanical Technician Steve Donajkowski received the annual Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Staff Excellence Award in recognition of his excellence in fulfilling the responsibilities of his job.

The CEE Staff Excellence Award is presented based upon feedback from faculty and staff in areas of professionalism and reliability, communication, teamwork, job knowledge and work quality, initiative, problem-solving and decision-making, planning and organizing, and leadership.

Junxing Zheng and Roman Hryciw Receive ASTM International Hogentogler Award

Professor Roman Hryciw
Professor Junxing Zheng
News date: 

Recent CEE PhD alumnus Professor Junxing Zheng and CEE Professor Roman Hryciw recently received the ASTM International Hogentogler Award, the highest honor bestowed annually by ASTM Committee D18 on Soil and Rock. ASTM International develops consensus technical standards for a variety of industries.

Professors Valeriy Ivanov and Nikolaos Katopodes receive MICDE Catalyst Grant

News date: 

The Michigan Institute for Computational Discovery and Engineering has awarded its second round of Catalyst Grants, providing between $80,000 and $90,000 each to seven innovative projects in computational science. The proposals were judged on novelty, likelihood of success at catalyzing larger programs and potential to leverage ARC’s computing resources.

Staff Member Sherry Brueger Receives CoE Staff Excellence Award

Sherry Brueger
News date: 

The College of Engineering has selected Faculty Support Coordinator Sherry Brueger to receive a Staff Excellence Award.

The Staff Excellence program was created to recognize the vital contributions that staff make to the College’s success. Recipients demonstrate sustained excellence in service and have made significant contributions to promote the College’s overall mission. Awardees are nominated by their department or unit and are selected on a competitive basis.


Subscribe to RSS - News
Go to top